Egg Monsters, Ecstacy & Onion Skins (Animation Techniques)

Image

I’m Currently in the process of creating a frame by frame animation in Adobe Flash.

I have found frame by frame to be the most enjoyable and immersive style of animation for me.

I’m heavily inspired by the works of David Firth, who has done some frame by frame animations. I think it gives a great rough look to the animation and makes it looks old skool. It feels less clinical and more charming, like the animator made it in a smokey room filled with pizza boxes instead of a scientist in a lab waiting for his next pay check.

Anyway the picture above is a screenshot of over 200 frames of my animation with the onion skin function selected on each of them. 

I don’t really like onions, but it turns out that their skins are bloody useful.

I thought I’d post this screenshot, as i think it is itself a work of art.

 

 

 

Leave a comment